Former UUP leader re-elected as Alliance gains second seat

The Strangford count has just concluded with another success for the Alliance Party’s Nick Mathison taking a seat on the ninth count. Former Ulster Unionist Party (UUP) leader Mike Nesbitt, whose seat appeared in danger earlier in the count, also was returned on the ninth count.

The main loser here was Stephen Cooper of the Traditional Unionist Voice (TUV) party who polled well with 5,186 votes and by the last count saw his vote rise through transfers to 5,924 votes. But it wasn’t enough to catch Mr Mathison who did far better in transfers and exceeded Mr Cooper’s vote by 249.

Elected earlier were Kellie Armstrong of Alliance who topped the poll and Michelle McIlveen and Harry Harvey of the DUP.

Live results hub: View all the latest results for every constituency here

Five seats filled: Kellie Armstrong (Alliance), Michelle McIlveen (DUP), Harry Harvey (DUP), Mike Nesbitt (UUP), Nick Mathison (Alliance).

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.